Remember It!

My Notebook of the amazing places I have visited and the memories and experiences I don't want to forget.

My Fish Tacos

2013-05-20T19-57-24_0-2I made my version of fish tacos several weeks ago. I used our last batch of corn tacos which I purchased during our holiday in California.

I love Baja fish tacos but I really make them at home for various reasons; deep frying leaves a lot of mess, it takes a lot of preparation and it’s not healthy. So instead most of the time I make fish tacos I usually pan fry my fish or cook it in the oven. I can get a lot of flavour into the fish this way and also it means that the dish is relatively healthy.

Here is my recipe:

The following will serve 4 comfortably

Ingredients:
White Fish – approximately 150-200 grams per person. Such as cod/haddock/mahi mahi etc. (filleted, scaled, deboned, with skin on, chopped into squares or strips for quicker cooking approx 2 inches)
2 tbsp Olive Oil / canola oil
Juice of 1/2 a lime
Salt and Pepper
1tbsp coriander stalks – chopped
½ tsp ancho chilli powder and/or ½ tsp dried jalapeno (depending on how much spice you like
1 tbsp of tequila (optional)

Instructions:

1. Add all the ingredients into a bowl and mix. Add the fish and marinade for approx 15-20 minutes. No more then 30minutes.

2. Fry skin side down on medium heat for approx 2-3 minutes. Turn over and cook for another 1-2 minutes or so. Fish will naturally break up and you can use a fork to flake it further.

Then simply assemble your tacos with whatever filling you like. With fish tacos I would usually recommend:
Chipotle Crema (or some sort of creamy sauce)
Crunchy Salad – chopped
White or Red Cabbage – chopped
Avocado – sliced (I mix this with lime juice to stop it going brown)
Pico de Gallo
Hot Sauce of your choice
Crunchy cabbage and or salad
Hot Sauce

Optional:
Beans
Tomatillo salsa – shop bought
Jalapenos

My recipes of some of the above will follow in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2013 by in Food Thoughts and Recipes and tagged , , , , .
