Remember It!

My Notebook of the amazing places I have visited and the memories and experiences I don't want to forget.

The Sound of Silence

I recently returned from a trip to California. I visited some places I had visited before and also visited some new destinations. It was great to get away from the daily grind of everyday life and more importantly work. Although our trip was hectic, it was hectic in a good way. We were never bored or waiting to leave a place, it was more like “can we stay longer please?”

After returning from holiday I was suffering from jet lag. On the first morning I found myself wide awake at 3:30am, my brain had no intention of going back to sleep. As a result I had the opportunity to enjoy a quiet dark morning in my home, and I saw how peaceful the day looked as the sun slowly rose over the cold frosty grass and plants in my back garden. For that moment I thought getting up at this time everyday would be great. Obviously I haven’t done it since and doubt I will for a long time, other things get in the way and by the time I go to bed the thought of getting up at 4 or 5am does not sound fun.

However I still remember how still and quiet the house and the outside looked, and I realised how precious silence is. In our everyday lives we rarely get the opportunity to experience it which is a shame because real silence is amazing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by in Random Thoughts.
