Remember It!

My Notebook of the amazing places I have visited and the memories and experiences I don't want to forget.

Current Libation of Choice

I love a well crafted and well made cocktail, and I’m not talking about the ones that come with little umbrellas but ones that have high quality ingredients that awaken all your senses when you have a sip. Obviously I can’t go to cocktail bars every weekend, if I did I would be broke! However I do make cocktails at home at the weekend. Several years ago my favourite was a Mojito; I liked mine strong, minty and with lots of lime not these sweet drinks you get at some of the rubbish bars. However over the last 8 months or so gin has been my preferred poison of choice and recently the ‘Cucumber Delight’ is my favourite libation. This is how I make it:

The Cucumber Delight

2 parts Gin – good quality such as Hendricks, Millers, Bombay etc.
1 ½  part fresh lime juice
1 ½ part simple syrup
4 wheels of cucumber
5 leaves of mint

Preparation:
In a mixing glass, combine all ingredients. Muddle cucumber and mint, add ice, shake well and strain into a martini glass. Garnish with a cucumber wheel with a mint sprig and add a splash of soda water if desired.

Mmmm if it wasn’t Monday I’d make myself one now….oh well a cup of tea will have to do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Libations & Cocktails and tagged , , , , , , , , .
