Remember It!

My Notebook of the amazing places I have visited and the memories and experiences I don't want to forget.

“Yosemite Valley, to me, is always a sunrise, a glitter of green and golden wonder in a vast edifice of stone and space.”

I had the pleasure of visiting Yosemite National Park once in the Spring of 2009, and I would go back in an instant.

It is a mesmerising place, and makes you realise how insignificant and minute the human race is. The park is busy and full of tourists; you get those that simply drive to major view points and don’t even get out of their car and you get those that visit the park in high heels (yes I did see this!!!). However I loved it, maybe it was because it was the first National Park I visited in the States. However I believe it was more than that, obviously the park is beautiful and you can observe this whilst quickly passing through in an afternoon. One of the most memorable and most recognisable views (Yosemite Valley from Tunnel View) is accessible from a pull off at the side of the road. When you google Yosemite you will most probably see a photograph of the Valley in the top 10 results or so. Here is MY photo…

Yosemite Valley

Yosemite Valley view from Tunnel View, Yosemite National Park, 2009

…yes I could have just got it from the internet however I was there, I took this photograph! And it’s not the photograph itself but the memories it represents. Looking at it I remember visiting Yosemite and I remember attempting to photograph the Valley from Tunnel View and thinking ‘this photograph will never do the view justice’ and although it’s a great photo it’s nowhere near as incredible as the view itself but what the image does is that it takes me back to ‘that’ moment and ‘that’ feeling of ‘WOW!’. Anyway the power of photographs are another topic……getting back to the Park……..

If you get out and about early you can even get the popular trails/hikes all to yourself. We had moments like that through the 2-ish days we spent at Yosemite. Yes the major trails like The Mist Trail (Vernal and Nevada Falls) are busy and popular, but even here as we looped round after reaching the top of waterfall the “crowds” faded and we were alone. It’s strange walking alone through places like that, it’s so peaceful and beautiful but at the same time apprehension does enter your head, after all this is bear country. Although I would love to see a bear in its natural environment I would not like to come face to face with one.

Mist Trail

Vernal Falls, Yosemite National Park 2009

Our itinerary during our trip in 2009 allowed for 1 night in the park with 2 almost-ish full days either side. The most unforgettable moment was when we awoke before sunrise and walked out of our room to a meadow where we waited for the sun to come up. Despite it being May and warm in the day time the morning was cold, there was dew on the grass, and it seemed eerily quiet. It was strange to be standing in this place that during the day was relatively busy, with people in the distance and cars driving by and now to feel like it was a wild and desolate place. Then we saw the first rays of the sun coming from over the top of the mountain, this seemed to happened almost instantly and the whole meadow was gleaming orange, the dew began to melt and the temperature rose. I will never forget that moment; I would get up everyday at an ungodly hour to see that again.

SONY DSC

Yosemite Valley at sunrise, 2009

“Yosemite Valley, to me, is always a sunrise, a glitter of green and golden wonder in a vast edifice of stone and space.” – Ansel Adams

2 comments on ““Yosemite Valley, to me, is always a sunrise, a glitter of green and golden wonder in a vast edifice of stone and space.”

  1. Vacation in Yosemite
    July 14, 2013

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I
    am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time.

    Thank you and good luck.

    Like

  2. Pingback: California Dreaming…2009 | Remember It!

Leave a Reply

